Christmas Waste & Recycling Collections

Over the Christmas and New Year period, the waste and recycling collection days in East Cambridgeshire will be subject to minor changes.

In order to allow for bank holidays, residents should put out their wheelie bins and black bags out on the following dates:

Normal Collection Day   Revised Collection
Monday 22 December      no change
Tuesday 23 December     no change
Wednesday 24 December   no change
Thursday 25 December    Saturday 27 December
Friday 26 December      Monday 29 December
Monday 29 December      Tuesday 30 December
Tuesday 30 December     Wednesday 31 December
Wednesday 31 December   Friday 2 January
Thursday 1 January      Saturday 3 January
Friday 2 January        Monday 5 January
Monday 5 January        Tuesday 6 January
Tuesday 6 January       Wednesday 7 January
Wednesday 7 January     Thursday 8 January
Thursday 8 January      Friday 9 January
Friday 9 January        Saturday 10 January

Residents are asked to have their materials out for collection by 7am as collection times may vary.

The waste and recycling collections will return to normal from Monday 12 January.

Dave White, Waste Strategy Team Leader at East Cambridgeshire District Council, said: “We understand that Christmas is a busy time so we have tried to minimise the disruption to our waste and recycling service over the festive holidays. As we know Christmas provides a great opportunity to recycle items lots of things. For example, the green lidded bins can take things such as Turkey bones, raw meat and plate scrapings preferably wrapped in newspaper – please don’t put put them in plastic or cornstarch bags. While the blue lidded bin can take non-foil wrapping paper, Christmas cards and plastic tubs.

“If you want to dispose of your recycling before your revised collection day, the Household Waste Recycling Centres in Witchford and Milton will be open except for Christmas Eve afternoon, Christmas, Boxing and New Years Day. They have extensive facilities to recycle much of the waste you generate over the holiday period, if you can’t wait for the normal collections.”

For further information please call on 01353 665555 or visit www.eastcambs.gov.uk

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.