Raphael and Elizabeth Wallfisch

Raphael and Elizabeth Wallfisch

Raphael Wallfisch is one of the UK’s most accomplished classical music stars – a cellist of international reknown.   His wife, Elizabeth, is a violinist of international stature. 

Their diaries are so full that they rarely get the chance to play together – but they are going to, when they join Ely Sinfonia to play Brahms’ Double Concerto in what promises to be a once-in-a-lifetime concert:

Ely Cathedral, Saturday 18 October 2014, 7.30pm.

Raphael and Elizabeth Wallfisch are both well known throughout the world as soloists in their own right, but it is rare for husband and wife to appear together.  On Saturday October 18th, however, they will be joining Ely Sinfonia to perform Brahms’ last major orchestral work, the Double Concerto in A minor for violin, ‘cello and orchestra, in the magnificent surroundings of Ely Cathedral.

As Ely Sinfonia’s president, Raphael Wallfisch has performed with the orchestra twice before.  However, this will be the first time that his wife, Elizabeth, has played with the orchestra.

Steve Bingham, Ely Sinfonia’s artistic director and conductor, says:  “We are delighted and honoured that both the Wallfisches have agreed to join us for what promises to be an exceptional concert.  Raphael is one of the best-known ‘cellists currently playing on the international stage, while Elizabeth also has an international reputation for her playing and immense repertoire, which includes classical and baroque concertos using period and modern instruments.  This will be a once-in-a-lifetime experience for orchestra and audience alike.”

Brahms’ Double Concerto is a truly romantic piece of music, echoing back to the era of the baroque concerto grosso with its disconcerting fusion of sternness and delicacy.  Combining rich orchestral textures with an intricate dialogue between the soloists, whose phrases interweave and elaborate on each other from the almost tragic gravity of the opening movement to the rollicking dynamism interspersed with thoughtful reflection that make up the finale.

Complementing this inspiring piece are two equally delightful works: Vltava, which is the second tone poem in Smetana’s Má vlast cycle, written in celebration of his native country; and Dvořák’s Symphony no 8, possibly the greatest of his nine symphonies.

Tickets start at just £7 (unreserved) and rise to £20 (premium), and are available from Ely Cathedral Box Office – Tel 01353 660349, email box.office@cathedral.ely.anglican.org and online from https://tickets.elycathedral.org.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.